Day 28- Imagination

Today we spent hours exploring the city museum in St. Louis. Almost everyone I talked to about going to St. Louis mentioned this museum. Today was a rainy day so we thought it would be perfect to check out.

The best part of this museum is that it seems like it came straight from the imagination of a child. Every exhibit/section felt like it was something a child dreamed up- a dark cave of tunnels with glowing crystals, a 10-story slide, a circus show, a giant spider web to climb in. It was a playground mixed with an aquarium, a circus, a cave, and an ancient Egyptian museum.

To me it felt chaotic, random, and unorganized. It was really a nightmare for an anxious parent (I was constantly worried about keeping my eye on her or losing her in the crazy tunnels). I never knew where one hallway (or slide, or tunnel) was leading to.

My daughter LOVED it. She spent hours exploring, climbing, and playing through all of the exhibits. She saw her favorite animal (axolotl) and played in an airplane and a castle outside. She was brave and climbed up high heights and through small dark spaces. She played the piano and went down fast slides. It was so fun to watch her explore and interact with the museum.

It was a good reminder that kids don’t always need the fanciest equipment, highest quality toys, or perfectly matching play set to have fun. I would love to see what my daughter would come up with if she were to create her own land!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started