Day 9- Screen Time

Sometimes I wish I could go back to the days before we were so reliant on technology. I use my phone a lot. I use it for all of the practical things- directions, checking the weather, calling and texting. But I also spend way more time mindlessly scrolling through social media sites- Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, etc..

I recently put a timer on my phone for all of these apps so I could be more aware of how much time I am actually spending looking at my phone. I’m embarrassed to admit that sometimes on the weekends I reach my screen time limit before I even get out of bed.

I’ve been in so many trainings, classes, and book studies that focus on preparing kids for the future in tech. But honestly I worry about our kids. I worry about all of the access that they have through phones, computers, television, and video games. I worry about their mental health and social skills as they become more distant from real life. I worry about addiction to technology, and how so many kids would prefer that in a heartbeat over playing in person with their friends, being outside, or engaging in any other activities.

I know that technology is convenient. I understand that these skills are important for future jobs. But how do we create a healthier balance? Even as an adult I have a hard time creating this balance in my own life. I know that I am not the best model for my own daughter, either.

It makes me wonder how our school system will change in the (near) future. Already our district has a plan to go paperless. Students K-8th grade have 1:1 technology. They are expected to complete online lessons daily, use Kami, Google Classroom, research, read, and write using their Chromebooks. Sometimes it feels like too much.

One response to “Day 9- Screen Time”

  1. I, too, wish we could go back to those simpler times. My daughter got a screentime report from her school iPad. She’d spent 14 hours on her iPad that week. That’s a LOT of screen time. Too much, if you ask me.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started